About IHP in the Netherlands


The Dutch contribution to the International Hydrological Programme (IHP) of UNESCO is coordinated by the Netherlands' National Committee IHP-HWRP. The Committee – which serves the Government of the Netherlands as a whole – is established as an interdepartmental advisory commission of two Dutch ministries:

  • the Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, formerly the Ministry of Transport, Public Works and Water Management (V&W)
  • the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW)

The Netherlands National Committee IHP-HWRP consists of a core team and the Committee at large. The Committee is advised by a scientific advisory board, which is formed by key hydrological scientists from all the relevant Dutch institutions.


National Committee members:

– Vacancy, Chair

– Drs. M.R. (Michael) van der Valk, Scientific Secretary

– H.E. Rob Zeldenrust, LL.M., Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Delegate to UNESCO

– Drs. Niels Vlaanderen, Senior Policy Advisor, DG Water, Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment

– Ir. Aart van der Horst, Senior Policy Adviser Water, DG for International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

– Ir. M.J.H.P. (Mathieu) Pinkers, Senior International Water Policy Advisor, Ministry of Economic Affairs, Agriculture and

– Dr. Roeland Allewijn, Hydrological Adviser to the Netherlands’ Permanent Representative to WMO, Rijkswaterstaat

– Ir. A. (Toon) Segeren, Director Inland Water Systems, Deltares

– Dr. D.S. (Daniël) Mourad, Water Policy Advisor, Ministry of Education, Culture and Science



– Drs. Sophie Primot, Sciences Coordinator, Netherlands Commission for UNESCO

– Dr. Neno Kukurić, Director, International Groundwater Resources Assessment Centre (IGRAC)

– Professor Stefan Uhlenbrook, PhD, Director for Academic Affairs a.i., UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education

– Ing. Eric Sprokkereef, Secretary, International Commission for the Hydrology of the Rhine Basin